The Chronology of one of Dublin's oldest rugby clubs

Club Milestones

A chronology of one of Dublin and Ireland's longest-established rugby clubs.

1899: Palmerston Football Club Founded in Ranelagh at the home of the Ferguson family.

1911: H Swan, R Exshaw & R Douglas are selected for Leinster for the first ever Junior Inter pro Vs Munster.

1919: The club enters the Leinster Senior Cup for the first time.

1924: The Club hosts the second All Blacks (The Invincible). (Note: Historic autographed photo on display in Kilternan).

1925: New grounds acquired at Clonskeagh. Pavilion opened by J.J.Coffey President of the IRFU, followed by a game against Lansdowne.

1934: D.M.Hudson becomes the Club’s first Leinster Senior Inter provincial.

1947: V.E. Kirwan elected President of the Leinster Branch

1952: V.E. Kirwan elected President of the IRFU.

1955: V.E. Kirwan elected Hon. Sec. of the International Rugby Football Board.

1956: Palmerston win their first ever Leinster Branch trophy (“The Moran Cup”).

1964: Mr Bob Fitzgerald appointed Secretary of the IRFU.

1965: De La Salle RFC founded in April.

1966: De La Salle RFC win their first Leinster Branch competition the Third A’s League

1968: Hugh Mc Cullough (De La Salle) is selected for the first ever Leinster u-19 team vs Cardiff.

1970: Palmerstons ground in Clonskeagh, become the first floodlit rugby pitch (or sports pitch) in the republic.

          De la Salle RFC win the Spencer Cup for the first time.

1972: De La Salle Past Pupils RFC acquire grounds in Glenamuck

          Palmerston FC become the first club in Leinster to start a Mini Rugby section

1973: Palmerston F.C. purchase a 16 acres site in Kilternan, Dublin 18.

1977: Barry O’Connor selected for the Irish B team.

1980: Palmerston F.C. play their first game in Kilternan on August 30th & the new clubhouse is

          officially opened by the President of the IRFU Bobby Ganly.

1980:    Barry O’Connor plays for Ireland in non cap winning test matches on the tour of South Africa.

1985:    De La Salle RFC And Palmerston FC make history by becoming the first two Irish rugby clubs to merge and will be known as De La Salle Palmerston F.C.

1985:     Dr Michael Foley is elected as the first President and Pat Mc Cabe is named as the Captain of

              the first De La Salle Palmerston F.C Senior Team.

1985     September 1st, De La Salle Palmerston FC play the Wolfhounds in their first game.

1985:     De La Salle Palmerston win their first Leinster Branch Competitions the J2 League &

              the Guilfoyle cup at J8 level.

1990:     Ciaran Shanley selected as the first Senior Inter Provincial to represent

               De La Salle Palmerston when selected to play for Connacht Vs Munster.

               Ronan Garvey, Thomas Leigh & Ultan Waldron were selected for Leinster (at u-19 Level)

               & Collie Gleeson was also selected for Connacht at u-19.

1991:     Des Fitzgerald becomes the first Full Irish International & is selected for Irish World Cup squad.

1992/93: De La Salle Palmerston qualify for Division 3 of the All Ireland League.

1995/96: De La Salle Palmerston qualify for Division 2 of the All Ireland League.

1998/99: De La Salle Palmerston promoted to Division 1 of the All Ireland League.

               De La Salle Palmerston qualify for their first Leinster Senior Cup Final.

               Simon Broughton selected for Leinster

1999:      Declan O’Brien becomes the first De La Salle Palmerston to be awarded a full time playing contract

               Mihai Vironeau plays for Romania

1999/2000: De La Salle Palmerston celebrate their Centenary year and retain their Division 1 status.

2001    J3 Team win a unique treble: the Moran Cup, the Stradbrook Cup and their league

2002    Damian, Ronan & Colm Mccabe make history as first 3 brothers to play together on a DLSP team

2007    J5 team win the O'Connor Cup

            New Viewing balcony & extension of dressing-rooms are opened

2009    Jack Kirwan wins IRFU Hall of Fame award

2009    DLSP Members John Fogarty & CJ Van Der Linde win Heineken Cup in Edinburgh with Leinster

2009    October 10th, De La Salle Palmerstons home grounds are renamed Kirwan Park

2010    New match standard floodlights are installed on 1st & 2nd pitches at Kirwan Park

            1st floodlit game takes place on February 26th in a J3 League game Vs Naas

2010    Kevin Fitzpatrick elected President of the Leinster Branch for 2010/11 season.

2010    J3's, J4's, U-16's & U-19's win their leagues in the Leinster Branch competitions

2010    23/10 Sean & Adam McDonagh become the first Father & Son to play in an Adult league game                       together Vs Terenure
2015 4ths, U-20's and U-18.5's win their leagues

2016 Winners of the Fox Cup for the 1sttime in clubs history

         Ross O'Shaugnessy, Ronan Costelloe & Cian Glennon Selected to play for Leinster Juniors

2017 1st Xv win the Spencer Cup

          Ronan Costelloe, Ian Burke Selected to play for Leinster Juniors

          Thirds win Leinster Metro 7 League

© 2021 De La Salle Palmerston F.C.
  • Kirwan Park,  Kilternan,  County Dublin,  Ireland D18 DC56
  • Phone: Bar & Functions Contact 01 2956202 Mon/Fri
  • Fax: Membership Enq
  • Email:
D L S Pv Monkstown Spencer Cup-13