DLSP FC, De La Salle Palmerston Football Club

Eugene Power R.I.P.

Our friend, school and club colleague, Eugene Power died peacefully at his home in Bishopstown, Cork on 31 May 2016.

Eugene was one of the star players on the DLS Churchtown Senior XV that reached the Cup Semi-Final in 1963, the first of the successful school teams. Eugene was a founder member of DLS RFC. He played for the 1st XV  while studying Veterinary Medicine at UCD. After qualification in 1968, Eugene practised as a vet before embarking on a career in Veterinary Research, spending most of his time at the Regional Veterinary Laboratory in Cork. He joined Highfield RFC in 1973 and played senior rugby there for many years. Eugene remained a great supporter of DLSP and frequently attended our Club away matches in Cork, where he would socialize with his old DLSP friends. We offer our condolences to his wife Angela, and their children Aoife, Michael, Emma and Shane and their families at this sad time.   

May he rest in Peace.

Written by John Doyle

Latest Fixtures/Results

Date Competition Fixture

Will Irleand win any tests in South Africa?

4 votes cast


Mini Youth Membership




© 2016 De La Salle Palmerston F.C.
  • Kirwan Park,  Kilternan,  County Dublin,  Ireland.
  • Phone: +353 1 2952235
  • Fax: +353 1 2955358
  • Email: info@dlspfc.ie